Indian Nobel Prize Winners

Indians who were awarded Nobel Prize for their distinguished works

  1. Rabindranath Tagore (1861-1941) – He was one of the greatest poets of India and received Nobel Prize for his book  “Gitanjali”  in 1913. He had also composed   the national anthem of India.
  2. Sir C.V. Raman (1888-1970) – One of the brilliant jewels of India, C.V. Raman with Nobel Prize for Physics in 1930 for his “Raman”  effect.
  3. Dr. Hargobind Khorana (1922-2011) – Dr. Khorana was awarded with Nobel Prize  for Medicine and Physiology   in 1968.  Khorana   has the distinction of producing the first man-made gene in a lab. He