1. Battle of Ten Kings: 14 BCE

This battle was fought between King Sudas of Trustu-Bharata Tribe and Ten Kings. In this battle, Ten kings were defeated by King Sudas.

2.Battle of Kurukshetra: 10th century BCE

Pandavas of the Kurus defeated Kauravas

3.Battle of Hydaspes: 326 BCE

Fought between the Alexander Great and King Porus.  King Porus was defeated.

4.Conquest of the Nand Empire: 321-320 BC

Fought between Nanda and Maurya Empire in which Nanda Empire got defeated.

5.Kalinga War: 262 BC

Fought between Ashoka the great and kingdom of Kalinga. Ashoka defeated the Kalinga.

6.Battle of Vatapi: 642

Fought between Pallavas Kingdom and Chalukya dynasty. Pallava defeated the Chalukyas.

7.Battle of Takkolam 949

Fought between Rashtrakuta Dynasty and Cholas Empire.  Rashtrakuta defeated Cholas Empire.

8.Battle of Vijayawada: 1068

Fought between Cholas Empire and Chera Dynasty

9.Battle of Nettur: 1188-1227

12. Battle of Chandawar: 1194

Fought between Chola Empire and PANDYA Kingdom

10. First Battle of Tarain: 1191

Fought between Prithvi Raj Chauhan and The Ghurid king Mu’zz al-Din. Chauhan defeated Mu’zz al-Din

11.Second Battle of Tarain: 1192

Fought between Prithvi Raj Chauhan and The Ghurid king Mu’zz al-Din. Mu’zz al-Din defeated Chauhan.

Fought between Muhammad Ghori and Jaichand. Jaichand was defeated.

13.Battle of Beas River: 1285

Fought between Chagatai Khanate army and the Mamluk sultanate.

14.Battle of Ranthombore: 1301

Fought between Delhi Sultanate and Chauhan dynasty. Chahamana king Hammiradeva was defeated by Delhi Sultanate.

15.Battle of Jalore: 1310-14

Delhi Sultan Alauddin Khalji defeated King Naddula of Chahamanas

16.Battle of Nagaur: 1456

Fought between Rajputs of Mewar and the Nagaur Sultanate. In fact it was a feud between the two brothers Mujahid Khan and Shams Khan, the latter was defeated and he took aid from Rana Kumbha the ruler of Mewar.

17.Battle of Chaul: 1508

Fought between the Portuguese and an Egyptian Mamluk fleet in the harbor of Chaul in India. Mamluk defeated Portuguese. 

18. Battle of Dholpur: 1519

Fought between Rana Sanga and Ibrahim Lodhi. Rana Sanga defeated Ibrahim Lodhi.

19. Battle of Panipat: 21 April 1526

In this battle, Babur defeated Ibrahim Lodhi.

20. Battle of Khanwa: 17 March 1527

In this battle, Babur defeated Rana Sanga.

21.Battle of Ghaghra: 1529

In this battle Babur defeated Afghans

22.Battle of Chausa: 1539

Shershah Suri defeated Mughal emperor Humayun

23. Battle of Kannaur: 1540

Again Shershah Suri defeated Mughal emperor Humayun

24.Battle of Tughlaqabad: 1556

Hemu (Hem Chandra Vikramaditya) defeated Akbar, the Mughal ruler.

25.Battle of Panipat: 1556

Akbar defeated Hemu under the leadership of Bairam Khan.

26.Battle of Talikota: 1565

Deccan Sultanates defeated Vijayanagara army

27. Battle of Haldighati: 1576

Rana Pratap of Mewar was defeated by Akbar

28.Battle of Kartarpur: 1635

Sikh empire defeated the Mughal Empire.

29.Battle of Kolhapur: 1659

Maratha Empire defeated Adilshahi dynasty.

30.Battle of Surat: 1664

Maratha Empire defeated the Mughal Empire

31.Battle of Purandar: 1665

Maratha Empire was defeated by Mughal Empire

32.Battle of Sinhagad: 1670

Maratha Empire defeated Mughal Empire

33.Battle of Aravali Hills: 1680

Rajputs rebels under the leadership defeated Mughals

34.First Battle of Anandpur: 1700

Sikh empire defeated Mughal Empire

35.Battle of Colachel:

Dutch East India Company was defeated by Kingdom of Travancore

36.Siege or Battle of Trichinopoly: 1741

Maratha Empire defeated Mughal Empire.

37.Battle of Madras: 1746

British East India Company defeated the French East India Company.

38.Battle of Golden Rock: 1753

French East India Company led by Haider Ali was defeated by British East India Company..

39. Battle of Plassey: 1757

Robert Clive of British defeated Siraj ud-Daulah

40.Battle of Lahore: 1759

Marathas and Sikhs jointly defeated Durrani Empire.

41.Third Battle of Panipat: 1761

Ahmad Shah Abdali defeated Marathas

42.Battle of Wandiwash: 1760

French East India Company was defeated by British East India Company

43. Battle of Sialkot: 1761

Durrani empire was defeated by Sukerchakiamisl

 44.Battle of Buxar: 1764

Joint  armies of Nawab Mir Qasim, Nawab Shujauddaulah and Mughal emperor Shah Alam was defeated by Hector Munro defeated

45.Battle of Vellore: 1782

Mysore was defeated by British East India Company

46. Battle of Calicut: 1790

Kingdom of Mysore was defeated by Travancore and British East India Company

47.Battle of Malpura: 1800

Swai Pratap Singh defeated Daulat Rao Sindhia

48. Battle of Farrukhabad: 1800

British East India company defeated Maratha Empire

49. Battle of Koregaon: 1818

British East India Company defeated Maratha

50. Battle of Peshawar: 1834

51. Battle of Jamrud: 1837

Sikh defeated Emirate of Afghanistan

52.Battle of Ramnagar: 1848

Sikh defeated British East India Company

53.Battle of Gujarat: 1849

Sikhs were defeated by British East Indian Company

54.Battle of Agra: 1857

Indian rebellion were defeated by British East India Company

55.Battle of Aong: 1857

Indian rebellions were defeated by British East India Company

56.Battle of Kintoor: 1858

Indian rebellions were defeated by British East India Company

57.Third Anglo Afghan War: 1919

British East India defeated Emirate of Afghanistan

58.Battle of Imphal: 1944

British India defeated the Empire of Japan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post


Vedas are ancient India’s great cultural heritage. The word Veda is derived from the Sanskrit word ‘Vida’  that denotes gyan or knowledge. They contain various hymns and religious texts.  Vedas