Suggested keywords:

Indian Defence System


Test Description Test Description Test Description Test Description Test Description Test Description Test Description



Indian defence system is divided into three services- Army, Navy and Air force.

A. Indian Army has been divided into following seven commands:

     No. Command           Headquarters

  1. Western command                  Chandigarh
  2. Eastern command                   Kolkata
  3. Northern command                Udhampur
  4. Southern command                  Pune
  5. Central command                    Lucknow
  6. Army Training command       Shimla
  7. South Western Command      Jaipur

B. Indian Navy has been divided into the three following commands:     S.No.     Command            Headquarters                                                  

1.              Eastern command     Vishakhapatnam                                                     2.            Southern Command    Cochin                                                                      3.           Western Command    Mumbai

3.  Indian Air force has seven commands:                                                              S. No.          Command                             Headquarters                                          1.                Central Air Command              Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh                    2.                Eastern Air Command           Shillong, Meghalaya                                3.                Southern Air Command     Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala                  4.                South Western Air Command    Gandhinagar, Gujarat                      5.                Western Air Command       Subroto Park, New Delhi                          6.                Maintenance Command             Nagpur                                                  7.                Training Command                   Bengaluru

a.     Border Security Force (BSF)   was formed in 1965.  BSF guards our international borders.

b.     Central Industrial Security Force (CISF) was established in 1969.  It monitors the large industrial complexes of Government.

c.      Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) was established in 1962.  It has been formed to monitor the activities in Northern borders of India.

d.    Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF)   was established in 1969. The primary aim of establishing it was to assist the state/union territory police in maintenance of law and order.

e.     National Security Guards was established in 1984. It consists of trained force and deals with the militants effectively.

f.     National Cadet Corps (NCC) was established in 1948 to encourage the youth in the defence of the country.

g.     Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) was established in 1920 to investigate the cases of misconduct by public servants, cases of embezzlement and fraud.   It also deals with international crimes in collaboration with INTERPOL.

h.     Intelligence Bureau (IB) was established in 1920. It collects information regarding country’s election.

i.    The Research and Analysis Wing (R&AW or RAW) was established in 1968.  Its main work is to gather foreign intelligence, engaging in counter-terrorism, promoting counter-proliferation,  advising Indian policymakers, and advancing India's foreign strategic interests.


icon Nhận bản tin

Mới nhất từ chúng tôi